Old Names of Telangana Districts 2018 [Updated]

Telangana Districts Old Names

Dear Telangana Aspirants,

In this post, we are Providing notes on Old Names of Telangana districts”. In this post, we highlight the different ancient names of Newly formed Telangana state districts. These type of questions are recently asked in Telangana TSPSC exams. So guys please go through this post and make some notes. This notes will be useful for job aspirants, who are preparing for Groups, Tspsc exams, AEE’s and Police jobs in Telangana state. This notes will definitely help to you get a perfect score in the Telangana(TSPSC) exams.

List of Telangana Districts Old Names:

Old Names of Adilabad: Adilabad derives its name from the erstwhile ruler of Bijapur, Mohammed Adil Shah

Old Names of Wanaparthy: Derived its name from by a feudal ruler, Raja of Wanaparthy, Raja Rameshwar Rao II, who was a vassal of the Nizam of Hyderabad.

Old Names of Jagityala: Jagtial town was established by moghal dynasty king Ibrahim Dhamsa. The fort was constructed with the help of two French Engineers, namely Mr.Jack & Mr.Tal, so the name of the town know at that time JACKTAL gradually it became Jagtial and in Telugu language they write it Jagityala

Old Names of Suryapet: Previously known as Bhanupuri, later changed to Suryapet.

Karimnagar Old Name: The present name of Khammam is derived its name after a local hill, which was called as ‘Stambhadri’. The town was called with different names starting with Stambhadri, Kambhadri, Kambham mettu, Khammam mettu and then finally as Khammam

Old Names of Khammam: The present name of Khammam is said to have been derived from the name of the temple ‘Narsimhadri’, later ‘Stamba Sikhari’ and then it was termed as ‘Stambadhri’ which has an ancient temple of Narasimha Swamy on its top. This temple is believed to have been existing since Treta Yuga. The vertical rock under the temple is known as ‘KAMBA’ which literally means pillar. The name of the town Khammam has been derived from ‘Kambam Mettu’ to ‘ Kammammet’ or ‘Khammam Mettu’ to the present ‘Khammam city’. The district is also named as Khammam.

Old Names of Mahabubnagar: This place was formerly known as “Rukmammapeta” and “Palamooru”. The name was changed to Mahabubnagar on 4th December 1890, in honor of Mir Mahbub Ali Khan Asaf Jah VI, the Nizam of Hyderabad (1869-1911 AD).

Old Names of Medak: Qutub Shahis named it as Gulshanabad which means City of Gardens due to its luscious Greenery later it was called as Medak again.

Why Don’t you Try: Telangana GK Quiz

Old Names of Nalgonda: Its name is derived from two Telugu words Nalla (Black) & Konda (Hills) i.e. the Black Hills.

Old Names of Nizamabad: Name derived from Nizam Governor. Nizam + Abad = Nizam, governor (of the empire) from Arabic, Abad means City.

Old Names of Ranga Reddy: Originally named Hyderabad (Rural) district, it was renamed after Konda Venkata Ranga Reddy, a freedom fighter who fought for the independence of Telangana from the Nizams and who went on to become the deputy chief minister of Andhra Pradesh.

Old Names of Warangal: The old name of this city is Orugallu. ‘Oru’ means one and ‘Kallu’ means stone. The entire city was carved in a single rock, hence the name Orukallu meaning ‘one rock’. The city was also called Ekasila nagaram(Single stone city).


Thanks for Reading Old Names of Telangana Districts article, If you found something interest on this post, like this post and feel free to comment and share this post with your friends and in social media.

“Sharing is the Best way to Gain Knowledge”

You can Subscribe to our website with your email id, and get daily updates and Free notes.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.